Monday, August 17, 2009

Who Are Those Guys - Ángel Álvarez

Ángel Álvarez was born Ángel Álvarez Fernández on September 26, 1906 in Madrid, Spain. He was a prolific character actor in Spanish films making over 200 film appearances beginning in 1945 and ending in the early 1980s. I first became aware of him in 1966’s “Django”, where he played the saloon keeper Nathaniel. He’s also has a fairly large role in 1966’s “Navajo Joe” as Oliver Blackwood. He has many memorable appearances in the Spaghetti Western genre although most are small cameos or character roles as storekeepers, bank managers and townsman. Ángel Álvarez died on December 13, 1983 in Madrid at the age of 77.

ÁLVAREZ, Ángel (aka Álvarez, Albert Álvarez) (Ángel Álvarez Fernández) [9/26/1906, Madrid, Madrid, Spain – 12/13/1983, Madrid, Madrid, Spain] – screenwriter.
The Coyote – 1954
The Judgment of the Coyote – 1954
Zorro the Avenger – 1962 (aristocrat)
Weeping for a Bandit – 1963
The Return of Clay Stone – 1964 (Goodwin)
Three Dollars of Lead – 1964
Django – 1965 (Nathaniel)
The Fury of Johnny Kid – 1966 (Rodrigo Monter)
Navajo Joe – 1966 (Oliver Blackwood)
Cemetery Without Crosses – 1968 (barman)
Duel in the Eclipse -1968
The Mercenary – 1968 (notary)
Guns of the Revolution – 1969 (priest)
Adios, Sabata – 1970 (bounty hunter agency manager)
The Price of Power – 1971
Massacre at Fort Holman – 1972 (Scully)
The Scarlet Letter – 1972 (Reverend Wilson)
Sting of the West – 1972 (Billy)
Yankee Dudler – 1973

No comments:

Post a Comment